Forthcoming: Kirsten Morrison – ‘Proserpine’s Gold’ Album

Kirsten Morrison - Proserpine's Gold [Album Cover] (Photography by Susana Sanroman -

We are very pleased to announce….

Kirsten Morrison – ‘Proserpine’s Gold’ [Album]

Label: Micro Spiral
Cat No: mspiral017
Formats: Digital CD / Download / Streaming
Global Digital Release Date: 21/08/15
UK CD Release Date: 21/08/15
Rest Of World CD Release Date: 11/09/15
Distribution: Cargo /

DOWNLOAD the Press Release (PDF) here.
DOWNLOAD the Audio Clips (MP3 / ZIP) here.
DOWNLOAD the Cover Artwork (JPEG) here.

Kirsten Morrison arrives on Micro Spiral with a debut album like no other! By day, this talented individual creates scores for film and TV programmes including the BBC’s ‘Plantagenets’, writes and performs her own operas, supplies music for commercials and has toured Europe with the Lene Lovich Band. However, none of those achievements will prepare you for the solo artist material that is ‘Proserpine’s Gold’!

Across twelve sublime tracks, we are taken on a highly original, diverse and eclectic journey. Kirsten delivers incredible operatic soprano vocals over tracks that take in influences from classical, medieval, folk, steampunk, theatrical and soundtrack styles. Genres are fused to create fresh soundscapes full of infectious melodies.

All of the songs on this long player are full of colour and are highly vivid as they paint evocative stories. Inspiration for many of these works came from the great poets such as Edgar Allan Poe, Blake, Rossetti, Rimbaud and Taylor Coleridge. Kirsten Morrison breathes new life into these literary gems by transforming them into epic avant-pop adventures.

‘She Walks In Beauty’ kicks off the album as Byron’s poem is morphed into a beautiful harp-fuelled, Goldfrapp-esque excursion. ‘Still Do You Leave Me’ uses piano-propulsion and climactic vocals to build and build. Live favourite ‘Marie Antoinette’ is an energetic four-to-the-floor baroque style romp with epic strings and a legendary tale. Edgar Allan Poe’s ‘Dream Within A Dream’ is a more serene and subtle number with a twinkling fairy-tale feel. ‘Siren Song’ takes us on an infectious gypsy-folk seashore adventure that will get you swaying. ‘Solar Flare’ closes affairs by launching into orbit for an atmospheric, experimental number for fans of science fiction!

‘A gorgeous track.’ ‘Really special.’ ‘Very much one to watch.’
– Lauren Laverne, BBC6 Music.

Tracklisting and Audio Previews:

01. ‘She Walks In Beauty’

02. ‘Kubla Khan’

03. ‘Still Do You Leave Me’

04. ‘Marie Antoinette’

05. ‘Dream Within A Dream’

06. ‘Siren Song’

07. ‘Salaviei’

08. ‘The Tyger’

09. ‘Alchemy Of Love’

10. ‘Janey’

11. ‘Bal Des Pendus’

12. ‘Solar Flare’

Cover Photography by Susana Sanromán /

CD sleeve design by Love Artwork

CD manufacturing by Disc Wizards, London UK